Easter Dilemma

I’m attempting to plan ahead somewhat for Easter. Of course I’m going to dye eggs with the kids and put together a basket for them. My son, Gary, is four and it’s not hard to find things to fill his basket with. Give him some candy, some cars, a game, and anything to do with Buzz and Woody and he is good to go. My 5 month old daughter, Calliope, on the other hand…..not so easy. She can’t have candy, and I can’t even put in Easter grass in her basket. She can’t have the little plastic eggs either. My solution is to knit something….

I went to www.ravelry.com (one of my favorite places for getting free patterns), and the first thing I found was this: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/toadstool-baby-rattle

I am currently in the process of making one, so I will post pics when I am finished. The cool thing is that you use a cat toy with a bell as the rattle portion and it’s completely inclosed within the mushroom so it’s safe for babies.

 

The second thing I found was this: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/gevlochten-bal—braided-ball

I’m debating whether or not to make this a rattle too using the same method, or making it just a squishy ball for her to play with.

Next I went on a search of things that were more Easterly. I found this: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bunny-blanket-buddy—knit

I knitted one of these bunnies for practice, but I was less than pleased with the results. I searched again and saw this: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lapin-2

I like this one much better…but the pattern won’t work for the yarn that I want to use and I would like it to be a little bigger. I’m going to attempt to make my own pattern up similar to the second bunny. Wish me luck! If it turns out well, I may post it here for others to discover. I have to write down the pattern anyway because if I like it, I’m going to make one for my son as well. He’s older, but he still likes to hold soft things when he naps or goes to sleep at night and I think that he would also enjoy one.

I’m also making her a headband for spring. She doesn’t have much hair yet, and soon it will be too warm for a hat. I’m in the process of designing a flower to place on it, pics will follow. Other than these knitted items, I’m at a loss as to what to put in her basket. She has plenty of pacifiers and teethers. Tons of other toys that I received at the baby shower and even hand-me-downs from her brother.

The idea just hit me that I could make a quiet book for them both. There are plenty of links on pinterest for ideas…..I guess this will depend on how much time I have and the amount of funds I have to buy the materials.

I’m eager for Easter…I love to watch the kids have fun and enjoy the holiday….however, I wish there was more time to prepare. Seems like it takes forever to get anything done when you have two kids….especially when you have to work on stuff when they are sleeping so that they will be surprised when they get their gift. Stay tuned….I’ll write more about this when I have some finished items, and I might possibly have a free pattern for a bunny blankie coming up depending on my results.

Leave a Reply

